vendredi 3 septembre 2010

Fall 2010 meeting

Greetings, AATF-Houston! Bonne rentrée! I hope this message finds you all doing well and off to the start of another great year. We are planning a fun and interesting fall meeting. Save the date: we will be meeting at the Alliance Française de Houston (427 Lovett in the Montrose area, on Saturday, October 2 at 1:30pm. Please make plans to attend, as, in addition to the usual fare of our own unique Houston area French teacher conviviality, great information, and useful professional development, we will be hosting a special ceremony to award our latest Chevalier de l’Ordre des Palmes académiques, Monsieur David Timms! There will be a wine and cheese reception after the meeting.

See you on October 2 !
Warmest regards, Georges Detiveaux, President, AATF-Houston

Qui sommes-nous?

We are the Houston Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of French (AATF-Houston). The American Association of Teachers of French (AATF) was founded in 1927 and is the largest national association of French teachers in the world with nearly 10,000 members. Our members are French teachers at all levels and include approximately 3/4 secondary teachers and 1/4 post-secondary. We also have a growing number of French teachers in immersion settings and in the elementary grades. As a professional association, we seek to address the concerns of our members which include: promoting the study of languages in general and French in particular; facilitating the implementation of national and state standards in the classroom; improving the training of French teachers by encouraging minimum levels of language and cultural proficiency, and exposure to the French-speaking world through study abroad opportunities; creating opportunities and finding resources for practicing teachers to update their skills and improve their teaching; and, finally, encouraging the use of new technologies in the teaching of French and actively developing materials to support this use. Our regional representative to the national office is Dr. Jacqueline Thomas of Texas A&M University at Kingsville.

Officers of AATF-Houston

Roya Razavipour MCARTHUR, President

Dore Sulistyo, Vice President

Johan P. Vergult, Grand Concours Director

Kathy KOCH, Secretary

Gerri MANLOVE, Treasurer

Claude BOUTIN, Destination France Program Administrator

Marci Pampe, Webmaster

Journaux français & européens